Connect with us

Top Stories

Buhari Resurrects John Odigie-Oyegun With New Appointment



Buhari Resurrects John Odigie-Oyegun With New Appointment

President Muhammadu Buhari has resurrected the fame of former national chairman of APC, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun.

News Mail Nigeria reports that President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed Chief John Odigie-Oyegun chairman of the University of Ibadan (UI) governing council.

John Odigie-Oyegun became chairman of the All Progressive Congress on 13th of June 2014 and didn’t seek re-election as chairman of the party in 2018. He led the party for four years which were the party’s glory days.

READ : Nigerians React To Aisha Buhari’s Book Launch Without President Buhari

President Buhari also reconstituted the governing councils of University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT), University of Lagos (UNILAG), Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile-Ife, and the Maritime University in Delta state.

A statement issued on Thursday by permanent secretary of the federal ministry of education, Sonny Echono reveals that Buhari approved Masud Kazaure, Abba Yaro, Abubakar Maikafi, and Emeka Nwagbo as members of the UI governing council.

The statement said the President also appointed Sen. Andrew Uchendu as chairman of University of Port Harcourt.

Other members are Mr. Kolo Uzamat, Cdre. D.T. Hinga, Mohammed Makarfi, and Ahmed Al-Mustapha are members.

UNILAG has Dr. Lanre Tejuosho as chairman with Dr Aminu Ahmed, Dr. Uro Gardner, Chief Chinedu Adindi, and Comrade Mustafa Salihu as members.

The statement also added, “OAU has Chief Oscar Udoji as Chairman, with Capt. Bala Jibrin, Hon. Eugene Odo, Dr Lateef Babata, and Alhaji Saidu Bako as members.

“The Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko in Delta has Dr Elias Courson as Chairman and Hon. Nelson Alapa, Hon Victor Giadono, Alhaji Bello Dukku, and Mr Godwin Ananghe as members.”

He said all the governing councils of the five universities would be inaugurated in Abuja by minister of education, Adamu Adamu, on April 19.

Echono urged the vice-chancellors of the affected universities to attend the inauguration ceremony.


Facebook Comments Box

I am a Writer who loves to make impacts and enjoy life.